Newest development on Pussy Riot case

A Russian court has ordered that Pussy Riot’s viral video “Punk Prayer” be removed from websites or those websites risk being blocked in Russia.  For those who have not followed this case, Pussy Riot is the punk band arrested for their involvement in the anti-Putin protests earlier this year, and this video was central in the government’s accusation of hooliganism charges.

The current ruling accuses the video of promoting extremism, which they claim was based on the assessment of a panel of experts.  I’ll leave it up to you to to judge whether you find this extremist.  If you’d like to watch the video (with English subtitles), you can find it here:

 

This summer, the Council of Europe did criticize Russia’s anti-extremism law as being vague and “problematic.”

2 Comments

  1. Hello there, I believe your web site could possibly be having web browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening
    in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful blog!

    1. Thanks for letting me know! I’m a PC user who tends to use Chrome or Firefox for my browsers, and I’ve never even looked at my post in IE. After checking IE with my PC, I didn’t notice anything, but I’ll have one of my Mac-user friends take a look and see if they can figure out what might be going wrong.

Your thoughts?

